Dreaming up a Landscape

Live

I’m about to put the house that I’ve been living in for over eight years, my very first house purchase, on the market.  We’re swinging in to winter here and unfortunately, the property market is sinking like a cold soufflé.  However, a buyers market is a sellers market and although I may not get as much for my home as I would have a half a year ago, hopefully I’ll find the right house for less money than I’d have spent then, too.

I’ve chosen a realtor and she has advised I scrub the place up before putting her on the market.  It’s funny what you get used to living with – cracked hallway tiles, a slight sink in the floor where the back door opens and drips water onto the bare chipboard floor… a broken bottom deck step, slightly unruly garden, and 1980’s kitchen and bathroomware throughout.

I’m incredibly excited about the process, however, and have been grazing google to find landscaping photos to match what I have in my head for a little pathway down from the back deck to the lower garden.  I had no idea there were so many beautiful, quirky, and stylised pathways out there!  It’s hard to choose from the beautiful garden creations out there.

Landscape_1Landscape_2Landscape_3Landscape_4Landscape_5Landscape_6Landscape_10Landscape_11

Given that my house style is townhouse modern, and the garden is a mixture of palms, yucca, and cabbage trees (with a good few rows of hardy agapanthis in the mix), what I want for my garden path is slate grey pavers with white crushed shell or possible white scoria surrounding the pavers, dropping in deep, wide steps to the lower garden.  I’m really liking the combination of the grey with the white, especially as the low retaining wall I’ll have built will be stained black.

Landscape_7Landscape_8Landscape_9

The area next to the new pathway will be filled with topsoil and black bark laid down.  It is currently populated with a handful of lovely, hardy cabbage trees which sprung up out of nowhere, and the palms and yuccas I determinedly planted out last summer amongst the arm-widthed roots of the 4 story glorious but dying magnolia grandiflora I cut down a few years ago. Other areas of the garden have river stone and lavender, and tall “dizzy lizzie” bushes. Hopefully it will all fit together!  I’m new to this design + styling thing so I can only hope my hundreds of long lazy days spent reading through architecture and garden magazines will pay off!

Will have to make sure I post before and after photos when it’s ready!!

Leave a Reply

